Family Matters, Part II

 

1.       When I was first introduced to your blog, I found myself reading more because you seem just like one of my girlfriends. It’s really interesting and appealing. Via your blog, I understand you have obtained your M.D. degree, and I think that’s enough to be congratulated about. Would you please tell us more about yourself and your husband?

I am of Nigerian descent and was born in Nigeria but raised in Texas. My husband on the other hand is of Swedish-German descent and was born and raised in small towns in Northern Iowa. We both grew up in large families. I have 3 siblings and my husband has 6. We are all very close to our families and as a result are very family oriented! Both sets of parents are college educated so the value of higher education was stressed to both of us growing up. We both went to state universities and graduated in ’06 and ’07 respectively! My husband studied engineering and is now a mechanical engineer. I studied biology and am now a physician training to be an anesthesiologist.

2.       From reading your blog, I gather that you’re Nigerian and that your husband is American (please correct me if I’m wrong). How did you and your husband meet, and what was your courtship like?
 
I am Nigerian-American and my husband is Swedish-German-American. My husband and I met while I was in medical school a few weeks after he moved to Houston to start his career. He didn’t know anyone in town and I graciously offered to show him around Houston and thus our courtship began. A few weeks after we met we were at a BBQ and some guy asked us if we were dating. We hadn’t really discussed our relationship status at that point so it was kind of awkward. Later that evening Jonathon brought it up and said that the next time someone asks if we are dating he would like to say yes, but only if I will say yes to being his girlfriend. Thus began our fairytale.

3.       For most Black women in America, many of them don’t date interracially on a serious level until they reach their adulthood out of fear of the unknown or fear of rejection by their peers. Was that ever an issue for you growing up?

Growing up I always thought I would marry a Nigerian. My older sister married a Nigerian and I saw myself following in her footsteps but God had other plans for me. I married interracially and am very happy with my marriage. I wouldn’t say I was worried about the unknown or rejection by my peers but I did have reservations about how the Nigerian community would receive my husband. Turns out most people are okay with it and those who aren’t don’t matter anyway!

4.       I have many friends who are from African and Caribbean countries, and in my opinion, they’re cultures don’t seem to have as many negative views about interracial relationships as compared to the American culture. Did you have this shared experience while dating your husband, and how has that had an effect on your relationship?

It does seem like many of the black women I see dating interracially are of African or Caribbean descent which is fascinating. I have actually come across several Nigerian women married to white men. Despite the increasing numbers of Nigerians marrying non-Nigerians, Nigerian culture does not encourage interracial marriage. In fact it does not encourage intertribal marriage (marrying another Nigerian of a different tribe). While Jonathon’s family embraced me with open arms it took my parents some getting us too. They eventually came around and now cherish my husband like he is their son.
 

5.       You’ve recently posted about your new addition to your family, and once again, congratulations!  Many women in today’s society are choosing to balance a career with a family life, and as statistics would show, it’s very successful. What are your thoughts on wives balancing home life with a career, and what do you look forward to in the future with your career?
 
I am still trying to figure out how I am going to balance being a wife, a mother and a physician. The thought of it seems overwhelming but others before me have done it so I will be able to. God never puts more on us that we can bear. I just have to remember to leave work at work and home and home. Once I learn that fine balance I think I will be successful as a wife and mother and as a physician because I will be able to dedicate myself 100% to each.

 
6.       Pregnancy news gets me so excited, and there seems to be something in the water because a majority of my friends are expecting, just giving birth, or planning on expecting. How has your pregnancy been thus far, and what one piece of advice would you like to instill into your child that you found imperative?

So far pregnancy has been difficult, but knowing that at the end of this journey I will have a sweet bundle of joy to call my own makes it all worthwhile. The one piece of advice I would like to instill in my child is that he/she can do all things through Christ. That one verse encompasses everything I want for my baby, a close relationship with God and the fortitude to achieve anything he/she sets his/her mind too!

 

To find more about Amy and her family, please visit her blog over at Making Mrs. Mauritz.

6 thoughts on “Family Matters, Part II

  1. Awesome interview! My husband’s family welcomed me with open arms and I miss them very much. I agree with Amy’s comment about Nigerians no encouraging intertribal marriages – in fact I think they are almost happier about interracial (I hate that word – used here for context only!!) than intertribal.

    Lots of Nigerian men in Australia have marriage Australian women, but one of Mr O’s friends still refers to “the colonial masters”. ACK! I don’t want him using those terms in our home in front of the children.

Leave a Reply

