Diversity Is The Key To Life, Part I

Earlier this year, I participated in a study about interracial relationships. At the end of the interview, I was allowed to ask the interviewer questions.  I don’t remember all of what I inquired, but I do remember asking, “Have you interviewed many other women like me?” The answer to the question was, “No.”

I was the outlier. I grew up in predominantly upper middle class African-American neighborhoods. I went to a predominantly white private school for only three years of my life (grades 10-12), and I matriculated from an HBCU that’s located in the heart of Atlanta, Georgia. Both of my parents matriculated from HBCUs, and my mother marched in the Civil Rights Movement. I didn’t start to seriously date interracially until I was 22 years old, and I never was an exclusive interracial dater. According to this study, I was not your typical type of black woman who would be involved in an interracial relationship. Since I love standing out, I was very pleased with finding out that piece of information.

I bring that love of standing out to the interviews that I do. If you take a look at the interview on the interview page, you will find a great diversity of black women who are involved in interracial relationships. They range in shades, sizes, interests, etc. It’s a great representation of refuting the ridiculous notion that one must look, act, and believe in a certain way in order to be accepted for a relationship. We’re varied, the people of world are varied…so why not show a varied representation of black women who are happily married and living their lives according to their own standards and not the standards of someone else who holds no value to anyone’s existence?

I’m happy to have found another addition to the varied list.

Meet Gabrielle.

She is the creator of the blog,The Gabe Fix, and she also has a Youtube channel that is sure to be entertaining for you. I’ve been a fan for a while, and my interest propelled me to request to do an interview with her. So who is Gabrielle? Per her website:

In August 2011, I married the love of my live and moved from a big city to a small country town In-The-Middle-Of-Nowhere, Tennessee. With a Maltese/Shih-Tzu that stares out the window all day and a husband who works a 9-5, I figured starting this blog would be the perfect way to keep myself busy. I guess you could say it’s my “baby”.
Here you will get a glimpse of life through my eyes. I love to shop, paint my nails and play dress up in my closet. I buy more books than I can read, live on a diet, have a new found love for cooking and I also make Youtube videos in my spare time. This blog is dedicated to sharing all the pieces of me. Hope you enjoy!
I encourage you check out her social medias, and come back tomorrow to read the interview we did together :).