Cornbread

“You gon eat yo cornbread?” That line from the movie Life always makes me laugh.

I’m southern, and I make no apologies about it. Yes the south has its downfalls, but what area doesn’t? I’m a proud Southerner, and I value some of its wonderful ways and traditions including displaying Southern Hospitality and enjoying southern dishes.

Since moving out west, I don’t get the chance to eat southern dishes AT ALL unless I cook them. There are maybe two “southern style” restaurants in the area, and being honest, they’re crap. I can’t help it; my family owns a restaurant, and I come from a long line of cooks.

Recently, I posted a picture of my cornbread muffins, and since some of you asked for the recipe, I thought I would go ahead and post it. I have two versions…the regular one and the vegan one (of course, this option is healthier). The following recipe is the regular one (a.k.a. The one my southern kin enjoys).

Cornbread Muffins (yields 12)

Ingredients: 1 cup of cornmeal, 1 cup of flour, 4 tsp. of baking powder, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 tsp. of salt, 2 eggs, 1 cup of milk (your choice of milk), 1/4 cup of melted butter

Preheat your oven to 425. Sift all of your dry ingredients thoroughly (cornmeal, flower, baking powder, sugar, and salt). Beat the eggs slightly, and add the milk and melted butter to the mixture. Once both sets are mixed thoroughly, add your wet ingredients to the dry. Stir them until the mixture is the consistency is of a thick cake batter. If needed, add more milk to the mixture to get the consistency you need. Pour the mixture into a greased muffin pan (with either cooking spray or butter). Place in the oven for 15-17 minutes, and take out of the oven when they’re a golden brown. While their still hot, you can glaze them with a little butter or if you’re really “fancy” use a mixture of butter and honey.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

