Ten Facts About Me

I thought I would change things up a bit in here and not discuss marriage or relationships. Besides, I think it’s interesting to find out various facts about bloggers; for, it adds a familiarity to them. So here are ten interesting (well, I hope they’re interesting) facts about me:

  1. I first learned how to cook when I was eight years old, and my first meal was shrimp scampi. I grew up in a single-parent home, so I had to learn how to do chores at an early age. Cooking wasn’t something I had to learn, but my mother decided to teach me how to make this particular dish since I asked for it often. She came home one day from work, and she walked me through the steps to make it. I vividly remember setting up the plate for my mom because I turned the shrimp facing each other, to make them in them in the shape of hearts.
  2. I didn’t get my driver’s license until I was 20 years old.  While everyone else was taking their driving education course at the ages of 15 and 16, I wasn’t.  I was getting rides from family and t friends, and I was no stranger to MARTA (Atlanta’s public transportation). I finally buckled down when I was ready to get my own car.
  3. Speaking of driving, I nearly failed my driving course. I had to take the written part twice, and I literally cried and begged the driving instructor to let me pass the driving test because I purchased my car already, was a student in college, and I needed a way to get to my classes.  I admit, I did a horrible job on the driving portion of the test. She had pity on me and gave me enough points just to pass. To this day, I still don’t know how to back up into spaces.
  4. I ate dinner with one of the original Tuskegee Airmen, Dr. Roscoe Brown. While at high school, I was chosen by faculty and staff to have dinner with him, along with the school Headmater, chosen faculty/staff, and two additional students. I purposely sat next to Dr. Brown, and it was a fascinating conversation. He is extremely intelligent, and he loves himself some barbeque :).
  5. In cold environments/seasons, I sleep with the comforter over my head. I leave a small hole big enough for me to breathe out of, and that’s how I sleep for the majority of the night. It’s a habit that I’ve kept since childhood, and I can’t break it. When Joseph first saw me sleep like this, he thought I was playing until I stayed like that for the remainder of the night.
  6. I can’t stand calamari. I think it’s one of the most disgusting things to eat…EVER! I didn’t try it until 2010. I tried it, and it took everything in me to not rush to the restroom to vomit (I don’t think that would’ve made a good first impression). I later tried it again the following year, and that time, I did rush to the restroom.
  7. When I was 16 years old, I interned with the CNN Center, and my office was on the same level as Ted Turner’s penthouse. I was accepted into this highly competitive program for high school students, and it granted paid internships for the summer. It was a great internship, and I learned a lot about business and marketing as well as financial policies, media, and business etiquette. It was fun eating business lunches comprised of lobster (I thought I made it to the top by then, lol), and attending business meetings at golf courses. It was also fascinating to see a man have a penthouse in the same place where he worked.  I never held a conversation with him long enough to say anything profound, but I can say he dresses down and casual all of the time. I was granted another internship when I was 18 with the same supervisor, and we have still kept in touch to this day.
  8. During December of 2010, I was broadcasted on the news in Atlanta. It wasn’t for anything glamorous, but it was traumatic…at least for me. I was driving home from a late body waxing, and it was snowing. I thought I could take the shortcut home since I had an early flight to see Joseph the next day. As I proceeded on the express way, I began to think, “This is going to be great because no cars are here.” However, something didn’t feel right the more I drove. I slowed down my speed, and I guess the car behind me became impatient because she passed me and increased her speed. Within seconds, her car spun uncontrollably, and I thought her car was going to flip over. My car too began to spin and glide, and it didn’t stop until it hit the edge of the bridge. We were on black ice, and stuck on a bridge…a freighting combination. Atlanta’s horrible wonderful DOT forgot to block the bridge, even though they knew black ice was down. I called and was told there was nothing they could do, and we all would have to wait until the following morning when help would arrive. Imagine its freezing and being stuck on a bridge, late at night…in the dark. All of a sudden, my phone is blown up with calls from family and friends saying, “I see you on the news. How did you get up there?” Come to find out, there were helicopters showing my car stranded on the bridge. After a while, I just stopped answering the phone because it was so embarrassing. Fortunately, there were two men who were also stuck on the bridge, and they somehow were able to push my car down the bridge to a part that didn’t have any ice. Mind you, they did this barefoot because they could get more traction. I offered to pay them back, but they declined. They declined all of my efforts to help them, and instead they said, “Tell those lazy DOT muthaf*ckers to get their asses up here and help us off.” You better believe I did just that. To this day, I don’t like driving in the snow, and it’s one of the reasons why I left Atlanta. I don’t want to live in any area where ice can stick to the ground.
  9. I met one of my brothers for the first time last year. I grew up with my eldest brother, and I have another brother that I didn’t grow up with. I always knew about him, and I would go on websites that help people search for loved ones. I never did find him, and I thought it was a lost cause. That was until my dad called me and informed me that we were going to meet. When we met, it wasn’t the sad, mushy type of introduction. It was the complete opposite. It was as if we had grown up together all of our lives. We’ve talked on the regular ever since, and I’m grateful that we’ve connected.
  10. When I was in the 3rd grade, I was reading on a 12th grade level.  I guess that’s due to me loving books and loving to read. Some of my fondest memories include books, and I still love to read. I was given the opportunity to be skipped in grades multiple times, but my mother declined them. I don’t have as much time to devote to reading like I would like, but I hope to obtain that one day. Too bad I didn’t have that skill for math. I think I would’ve rather had it in math than in reading because it would’ve made my math classes a lot easier. Anything beyond pre-calculus is foreign to me.
9 thoughts on “Ten Facts About Me

  1. I love reading “facts about me” type posts. So interesting! And I’m from Atlanta and didn’t get my license until I was 19 either. At the time, I thought I was the oldest person in Atlanta who didn’t have a license, lol.

  2. That sounds like a great internship. It says that you’re a really smart and motivated person to be accepted for such a position.

    Re: Ice on the ground
    I totalled my last car after a snowstorm left so much ice and slush on the roads that there were cars slipping and sliding all over the place. It was mainly my fault though because I had bad tires and should have had them replaced but was trying to save money. Well, I saved a bit of money and ended up with no vehicle. I learned my lesson.

  3. What cool facts! I can definitely relate to a few of them

    I got my license at 19 on the THIRD try! haha.
    Calamari is a very weird food, but I love it! Fried to a golden brown perfection with thai chill sauce…mmmmm yum…let me not even get started. *mouth is watering* lol

    How fantastic that you and your brother were able to connect. I hope you will be able to have a great relationship that will last a lifetime! :)

Leave a Reply

